Skip Navigation

Women Scholars Initiative
for the Advancement, Recruitment, and Retention of Women (ARROW Initiative)

Eminent Scholars

Eminent Scholar Award Recipients


Lynda Chin, M.D. - Professor and Department Chair, Department of Genomic Medicine, Division of Cancer Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Diana J. Wilkie, Ph.D., RN, FAAN -
Professor in the Department of Biobehavioral Health, Endowed Chair for Nursing Research and Director of the Center of Excellence for End-of-Life Transition Research at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Barbara Gilchrest, M.D.
Professor and former chair of the Department of Dermatology at Boston University School of Medicine and Boston Medical Center. 

Pamela J. Bjorkman, Ph.D. -
Max Delbruck Professor of Biology, Investigator Howard Hugues Medical Institute, California Institute of Technology presented her keynote, "Overcoming HIV Pathways for Escape using Rationally-Designed Anti-HIV Antibodies", and received the 2012 MUSC Eminent Scholar Award.

Cynthia Kenyon, Ph.D. - Herbert Boyer Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of California at San Francisco - Director of the Hillblom Center for the Biology of Aging at UCSF presented her keynote, "Cells and Pathways that Control the Aging of C.elegans", and received the 2011 MUSC Eminent Scholar Award.

Kristi Anseth, Ph.D. - Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Colorado-Boulder, presented her keynote "Swell Gels: Engineering Biomaterials to Promote Healing" and received the 2010 MUSC Eminent Scholar Award.

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D
. - Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development from The Rockefeller University, presented her keynote “Stem Cells of the Skin: Biology and Clinical Promise” and received the 2009 MUSC Eminent Scholar award.

Catherine D. DeAngelis, M.D., M.P.H.
Editor-in-Chief of JAMA and Scientific Publications and Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, presented her seminar and received the 2008 MUSC Eminent Scholar Award.

Constance Cepko, Ph.D.
Professor of Genetics, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Harvard Medical School, presented her seminar and received the inaugural MUSC Eminent Scholar Award.



© 2014  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer