Skip Navigation
The Catalyst

Charleston Medical Society honors physicians and medical students

By Mikie Hayes
Public Relations

Student awardees join Charleston County Medical Society members at the Nov. 7 meeting. Student Rhonda Winchester, from left, Dr. Richard H. Gross, Gregory Franklin, Dr. Layton McCurdy, Dr. Katharyn J. Ouzts, Brian Still and Dr. Frederick E. Reed Jr. Not pictured is Jacqueline Savage. photo by Tom Steenhuysen

The Charleston County Medical Society honored three MUSC physicians and four College of Medicine students at its 2013 annual meeting on Nov. 7. During the meeting, Clarence W. Legerton, III, M.D., a graduate of MUSC College of Medicine, was installed as the new president.

A particular highlight of the event was the presentation of four named scholarships to MUSC medical students, all of whom hail from South Carolina. Three of the four scholarships were named in honor of MUSC physicians in appreciation of their long-standing support of the organization.

“Charleston County Medical Society is appreciative of the long-standing relationship with MUSC. Your physicians have been and will continue to be integral to our success. We are most grateful to the MUSC physicians and staff whose generous gifts allow us to grant scholarships to the brightest and best medical students in Charleston County, such as the four scholarships we recently awarded," said Margaret Mays, CCMS executive director.

The Layton McCurdy Award was presented to Gregory Franklin a second- year student from Blythewood. McCurdy, Distinguished University Professor, served as MUSC’s vice president for medical affairs and dean of the College of Medicine for 11 years. A long-time champion of the CCMS, this award honors McCurdy’s support of the CCMS mission and its invaluable initiatives. During his time as dean, McCurdy encouraged collaboration between the two organizations.

“It is a great honor having a scholarship named for me especially by the Charleston County Medical Society as the society represents a broad array of doctors from the entire area. I am deeply honored by this award and I am particularly moved by this particular young man, Gregory Franklin, who is the recipient. They simply could not have selected a better person than Gregory,” said McCurdy.

The Richard H. Gross Award was presented to Rhonda Winchester a fourth-year medical student from Richburg. Gross is a physician and professor in the departments of Orthopaedic Surgery and Pediatrics. He is on the executive committee of the Children’s Hospital and CCMS past president.

The Frederick E. Reed, Jr. Award was presented to Brian Still a second- year medical student from Charleston. Reed, who is an MUSC’s College of Medicine alumnus, was a professor in the departments of Orthopaedic Surgery and Pediatrics until he recently retired.

The Katharyn J. Ouzts Award was presented to Jacqueline Savage, a fourth- year medical student from Conway. Ouzts is a psychiatrist who practices in Mount Pleasant.

November 22, 2013

© 2013  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer