Skip Navigation
The Catalyst

ARROW name change defines women faculty, researchers across campus missions

Staff Report

Dr. Kathleen Brady, center, professor and associate provost for clinical tranlsational science and clinical neuroscience division director, was honored for her contributions and presented with the 2013 Women Scholars Initiative’s (now ARROW) Advancement of Women Faculty Award by Interim President Dr. Mark Sothmann at Colcock Hall. The award is among several programs, activities and recognition sponsored by the ARROW program honoring excellence among women faculty and researchers on campus. photo by Anne Thompson, Digital Imaging

The Women Scholars Initiative name has changed to ARROW for Advancement, Recruitment, and Retention of Women.

This new name reflects feedback that not all women faculty relate to the term “scholars” in the former title. The ARROW program’s mission focuses on the advancement of women faculty across all missions and colleges of MUSC.

Various programs are conducted throughout the year to support the initiative and will continue under the new name. These programs are available to all women faculty regardless of career track or degree across all colleges.

In addition, the College of Medicine is establishing a center supported by a National Science Foundation grant for the advancement of women scientists. COM Dean Etta Pisano, M.D., serves as the principal investigator. The Center for ARROWS (Advancement, Recruitment, and Retention of Women Scientists) will provide programs and support specifically for female doctoral scientists or similar female faculty who are focused on research.

“We’ve come a long way,” said Pisano. “Women now lead medical schools and other big and important ventures. But, there aren’t enough of us in leadership or in science. ARROWS will help us develop methods to improve support for the careers of women in science at MUSC and other similar institutions. Women in STEM [science, technology, engineering and mathematics] disciplines are finding it very challenging to succeed. ARROWS will be a step toward changing what’s possible for women in science.”

Ashli Sheidow, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Psychiatry, has served as vice chair for the MUSC ARROW Initiative since 2010 and is also a co–PI on the NSF grant supporting the Center for ARROWS. Sheidow left MUSC at the end of May for a position at the Oregon Social Learning Center. Her vision and dedication facilitated successes in supporting and advancing the careers of women faculty at MUSC.

Tamara Nowling, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Department of Medicine, will step into the role of vice chair, with Darlene Shaw, Ph.D., associate provost for education and student life, remaining as chair of the ARROW Initiative. The College of Medicine has announced that Carol Feghali-Bostwick, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Medicine, was recently named director of The Center for ARROWS and will be taking over Sheidow’s co–PI position on the NSF grant. Feghali-Bostwick will be working in conjunction with Nowling to continue implementation of The Center for ARROWS initiatives.  

Information about MUSC’s ARROW program and the Center for ARROWS can be found at or by contacting Megan McDonough at


June 22, 2014



© 2013  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer