Skip Navigation
 

Center For Health Disparities Research

Partnerships & Collaborators

Partnerships/Collaborations

The purpose of the Center for Health Disparities Research is to bring together core faculty and develop research infrastructure to enhance competitiveness in obtaining extramural research support in health disparities research. The center will emphasize collaborative research that will build bridges across colleges on campus and across institutions within the state of South Carolina.

Partnerships will be developed with other statewide initiatives that have the potential to improve health care disparities including the Diabetes Initiative of South Carolina and the Hypertensive Initiative of South Carolina. The new center will provide an opportunity to develop a cohesive and integrated health disparities research initiative at MUSC that will diversify the current MUSC research portfolio and increase the ability of the university to compete for extramural grants and contracts from NIH, CDC, DHHS, VA, and various research foundations.

Center Investigators

Ronald Acierno, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

acierno@musc.edu

Robert Neal, Axon, MD, MSCR

Assistant Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics

axon@musc.edu

Thomas G. Basler, Ph.D., FMLA

Professor and Chairman, Department of Informatics and Library Science; Director of Libraries

basler@musc.edu

Vanessa A. Diaz, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Family Medicine

diazva@musc.edu

Clara Dismuke, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Health Administration and Policy

Dismuke@musc.edu

Brent M. Egan, MD

Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics

eganbm@musc.edu

Leonard E. Egede, MD, MS

Allen H. Johnson Endowed Chair and Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics

egedel@musc.edu

John R. Feussner, MD, MPH

Distinguished University Professor and Executive Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs

feussner@musc.edu

Mulugeta Gebregziabher, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Division of Biostatistics & Epidemiology

gebregz@musc.edu

Gary S. Gilkeson, MD

Professor of Medicine/Microbiology and Immunology

Gilkeson@musc.edu

Anouk L. Grubaugh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Grubaugh@musc.edu

Kelly J. Hunt, Ph.D.


Associate Professor, Division of Biostatistics & Epidemiology

huntke@musc.edu

Carolyn H. Jenkins, RN, DrPH, FAAN

Professor, College of Nursing

jenkinsc@musc.edu

Diane L. Kamen, MD

Associate Professor, Division of Rheumatology, College of Medicine

kamend@musc.edu

Rebecca Knapp, Ph.D.

Professor, Division of Biostatistics & Epidemiology

knappr@musc.edu

James S. Krause, Ph.D.

Professor, College of Health Sciences

Krause@musc.edu

Daniel T. Lackland, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biostatistics & Epidemiology

Lackland@musc.edu

Marilyn A. Laken, Ph.D., RN

Professor, College of Nursing

lakenm@musc.edu

Cheryl P. Lynch, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics

lynchcp@musc.edu

Gayenell Magwood, Ph.D., RN

Assistant Professor, College of Nursing

magwoodg@musc.edu

Arch G. Mainous, III, Ph.D.

Professor and Director of Research, Department of Family Medicine

mainouag@musc.edu

Patrick D. Mauldin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy and Clinical Sciences and Associate Professor, Biostatistics and Epidemiology, College of Medicine

mauldinp@musc.edu

Nancy C. Mckeehan, MSLS

Professor, Department of Informatics & Library Science and Assistant Director of Libraries for Systems

mckeehan@musc.edu

William P. Moran, MD, MS

Professor and Director, Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics

moranw@musc.edu

Martina Mueller, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, College of Nursing

muellerm@musc.edu

Paul Nietert, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Division of Biostatistics & Epidemiology

nieterpj@musc.edu

Charlene A. Pope, Ph.D., RN

Associate Professor, College of Nursing

popec@musc.edu

Sandip Prasad

Assistant Professor, Department of Urology, Associate Director Urology Residence Program

pradsads@musc.edu

David E. Rivers, MA

Director, Public Information and Community Outreach, Department of Library Science and Informatics

riversd@musc.edu

Joseph Romagnuolo, MD, MSc

Associate Professor, Director of Clinical Research, GI/Hepatology, College of Medicine

romagnuo@musc.edu

Kenneth Ruggiero, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

ruggierk@musc.edu

Carlos F. Salinas, DMD

Professor, Director of the Division of Craniofacial Genetics, Department of Pediatric Dentistry and Orthodontics, College of Dental Medicine and Director of the MUSC Craniofacial Anomalies and Cleft Lip and Palate Team

salinasc@musc.edu

Elizabeth J. Santa Ana

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

santaana@musc.edu

Sabra C. Slaughter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chief of Staff, MUSC President’s Office

slaughsc@musc.edu

David, Taber, PharmD, BCPS

Assistant Professor, Division of Transplant Surgery

taberd@musc.edu

Nichole Tripician Tanner, MD

Assistant Professor, Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Sleep Medicine

tripici@musc.edu

Deborah C. Williamson, DHA, MSN, CNM

Associate Professor, College of Nursing and Associate Dean for Practice

wilmsnd@musc.edu

 
 
 

© 2014  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer