Skip Navigation


COM Profile

About the MUSC College of Medicine:

  • The college has 25 departments which independently and collectively contribute to the education of future physicians.
  • The opening of the Ashley River Tower in 2008, has provided students at the college with the opportunity to train at one of the most innovative and and technologically advanced academic medical centers in the nation. Housing the MUSC Heart and Vascular Center, Surgical Oncology and the MUSC Digestive Disease Center, Ashley River Tower is changing what's possible in health care in our state.
  • MUSC's College of Medicine (COM) was the first medical school in the southern United States and was founded in 1824, with some of the college pioneers writing some of America’s first medical textbooks.
  • The College of Medicine admits 155-160 students each year into its four-year medical curriculum. The students are awarded a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree upon completion of the college’s academic requirements. A four-year integrated curriculum includes basic science instruction in all of the core disciplines and a wide range of clinical educational opportunities, which are closely supervised by full and part-time faculty members.
  • In addition, the College of Medicine, in conjunction with the College of Graduate Studies, offers the Medical Scientist Training Program which leads to an M.D./Ph.D. degree and also sponsors the Southeastern Predoctoral Training in Clinical Research T-32 program which leads to an MD and a Masters Degree in clinical research. The College of Medicine, in conjunction with The Citadel, offers an MD/MBA. The College of Medicine, in conjunction with The College of Health Professions, offers an MD/MHA. In addition, The College of Medicine, in conjunction with The University of South Carolina, offers an MD/MPH.




© 2012  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer Web Administrator