Skip Navigation


Message from the Dean


Etta D. Pisano, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine

Dear Colleagues:

The Earl B. Higgins Achievement in Diversity Award winners were announced earlier today. These awards were established to honor students, faculty and staff who make a significant and positive contribution to diversity on the MUSC campus. Please join me in congratulating Dr. Leonie Gordon, Professor of Radiology and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development, who received this year’s faculty/staff award. Dr. Gordon is to be commended for her many diversity-related efforts across MUSC’s missions.

As you know, Dr. Langdon Hartsock has announced his intention to step down as Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery. We are now beginning the search to identify his successor. Dr. Scott Reeves has agreed to serve as chair of this search committee, and search committee members include Milton Armstrong (surgery), Thierry Bacro (regenerative medicine), Marcy Bolster (medicine), Pat Cawley (MUHA), Ben Clyburn (medicine), William Conway (radiology), Samir Fakhry (surgery), Bruce Frankel (neurosciences), Diann Krywko (medicine), and Murray Passo (pediatrics). I will be meeting with the committee to provide their charge in the near future.

The Women Scholars Initiative is accepting applications for the second annual John R. Raymond Mentoring Fellowship. This fellowship provides some financial support for a selected full-time female faculty member to initiate a relationship with a mentor affiliated with an outside institution. The female faculty member’s field of interest may be in research, clinical practice, or education/teaching and the mentor should be someone who is considered an expert in his/her chosen field. The application deadline for his program has been extended to March 16; application information can be found at

As MUSC pilot clinics prepare to go live with the Epic ambulatory medical record system on March 22, the Epic implementation team is putting in place a robust support network for the first end-users of the new system. Approximately eighty credentialed Epic trainers are conducting training classes and providing support. Additionally, close to 300 faculty and staff superusers will be prepared to assist colleagues during the transition to Epic. The implementation team is making great progress in establishing a command center to field calls from clinics. Epic users will be able to reach that support unit by phone at 876-EPIC(3742) during the go-live period.

The South Carolina Hospital Association is now accepting nominations for the 2012 Lewis W. Blackman Patient Safety Champion Awards Program, which recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exemplary dedication and leadership in advancing quality and safety of health care for patients across the State of South Carolina. Nominations for these awards are due by March 9, 2012. More information about these awards, including nomination instructions, can be found at

As always, I look forward to hearing from you via email or when I attend your departmental meetings.

With warm regards,



© 2016  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer     Contact Web Administrator