Skip Navigation


Message from the Dean


Etta D. Pisano, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine

Dear Colleagues:

The search committee for the Chair of the new Department of Public Health Sciences, chaired by Dr. Kathleen Brady, has been hard at work over the past several months.  They have just released the names of the initial group of candidates invited to interview for this position.  The candidates currently invited to interview are- George Howard (Univ. of Alabama-Birmingham School of Public Health, May 1-2), Michael Kutner (Emory University Rollins School of Public Health, May 3-4), Martha Morris (Rush University Medical Center, May 10-11), Keith Muller (Univ. of Florida College of Medicine, May 17-18), Ronnie Horner (Univ. of Cincinnati College of Medicine, May 29-30), and Wayne Rosamond (Univ. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Gillings School of Global Public Health, June 14-15).  Each of these candidates will be giving seminars that will be open to all members of the college; more information will be shared as details are confirmed.

Dr. Michael Olivier, candidate for the position of Founding Director of the Center for Genomic Medicine, will be giving a seminar next Wednesday, April 18, at 4:00 p.m. in 100 Basic Science Building on the topic of “Genomic Medicine: Integrated Approaches to Common and Complex Human Disorders”.  Dr. Olivier is currently Professor of Physiology, Director of the NHGRI Wisconsin Center of Excellence in Genomics Science, and Co-Director of the TOPS Center for Obesity and Metabolic Research at the Medical College of Wisconsin.  All members of the college are invited to attend his seminar.

I am very pleased to announce that Dr. Peter Kalivas, Professor and co-Chair of the Department of Neurosciences, has been selected to receive the 2012 Governor’s Award for Excellence in Scientific Research.  This award recognizes Peter’s significant scientific achievements and his leadership role in the field of drug addiction.  Peter is highly deserving of this recognition – please join me in congratulating him on this accomplishment.

MUSC Physicians has recently announced the selection of medical directors for their multi-specialty and primary care sites.  These medical directors will provide coordinated leadership and serve as the primary points of contact for physicians and practices using these clinical sites.  Drs. Terri O’Brien (cardiology) and Ross Rames (urology) will serve as medical directors at MUSC Health-East Cooper.  Dr. Dennis Schimpf (plastic surgery) will serve as medical director at MUSC Health-North Charleston.  Dr. Shane Woolf (orthopaedic surgery) will serve as medical director at MUSC Health-West Ashley.  Dr. John McDonald (Carolina Family Care) will serve as medical director of MUSC Health-Primary Care.  Please join me in welcoming these physicians to these new roles.

As a reminder, all faculty and students are invited to attend the Medical Alumni Homecoming Weekend Oyster Roast, which is scheduled for Friday, April 20, at 7:00 p.m.  This is an opportunity to bring together our alumni, faculty, and current students in a fun and relaxed environment so that we can get to know one another even better.  Faculty may register by going to and clicking on “Alumni Bash and Oyster Roast”.  Students are welcome to attend for free; advance ticket pick up is required.  Tickets may be picked up and additional tickets purchased at the reception desk of the dean’s office until 5:00 p.m. on Monday, April 16.  No tickets will be sold at the door and everyone must have a ticket to get in.

As always, I look forward to hearing from you via email or when I attend your departmental meetings.

With warm regards,



© 2016  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer     Contact Web Administrator