Skip Navigation


Message from the Dean


Etta D. Pisano, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine

Dear Colleagues:

The search committee for the Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, chaired by Dr. Peter Kalivas, has been hard at work over the past several months.  They have just released the names of the initial group of candidates invited to interview for this position.  The candidates currently invited to interview are- Philip Howe (May 2-3, MUSC), Henrik Dohlman (May 7-8, UNC-Chapel Hill), Brian O’Rourke (May 22-23, Johns Hopkins), Richard Fishel (May 24-25, Ohio State University), Iris Lindberg (May 30-31, Univ. of Maryland), and Erik Knudsen (June 14-15, Thomas Jefferson University).  Each of these candidates will be giving seminars that will be open to all members of the college.

Dr. Howard Edenberg, candidate for the position of Founding Director of the Center for Genomic Medicine, will be giving a seminar next Monday, April 23, at 4:00 p.m. in 100 Basic Science Building on the topic of “Genetics and Genomics of Alcoholism”.  Dr. Edenberg is currently Distinguished Professor, Chancellor’s Professor, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and of Medical and Molecular Genetics, and Director of the Center for Medical Genomics at Indiana University School of Medicine.  All members of the college are invited to attend his seminar.

Earlier this week a ceremony was held to recognize faculty selected by our medical students for the Spring 2012 Faculty Excellence Awards.  The winner of the First Year Class award was Dr. Michael Caplan, and runners up for this award were Drs. Paul McDermott and Thierry Bacro.  Dr. Preston Church was the winner of the Second Year Class award, and runners up for this award were Drs. Laura Kasman and John Hildebrandt.  The winners of the Clinical Years award were Drs. Chris Pelic and David Mills, and runners up for these awards were Drs. Stephanie Montgomery and Rachel Stacey.  I’d like to extend my congratulations to the individuals listed above, and to the other nominees for these awards – thank you for all you do for our students.

As always, I look forward to hearing from you via email or when I attend your departmental meetings.

With warm regards,



© 2016  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer     Contact Web Administrator