Skip Navigation
 Patient Care      Medical University       Research at MUSC

   University News


Etta D. Pisano, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine

 Dear Colleagues:

Medical School LCME Reaccreditation Update

 The College of Medicine's self-study materials have now been submitted to the LCME in advance of our reaccreditation site visit in January 2013.  The self-study summary report is available at for your review.  Questions and comments on this document can be submitted on the Education discussion forum at

 Family Medicine Chair Search

 We are now beginning the search to identify a new Chair of our Department of Family Medicine.  As you know, Dr. Bill Hueston stepped down from this position earlier this summer, and Dr. Barry Hainer is serving as Interim Chair of the department.  Dr. Rita Ryan is serving as chair of the search committee, and search committee members include Megan Baker (surgery), Christine Carr (emergency medicine), Ben Clyburn (medicine), Michael de Arellano (psychiatry), Chanita Hughes-Halbert (psychiatry), Rogers Kyle (medicine), Lee Leddy (orthopaedic surgery), Mark Lyles (MUHA), Cathy Melvin (medicine), Bill Randazzo (pediatrics), and Ashlyn Savage (ob/gyn).  I will be meeting with the committee next week to provide their charge.  The committee will be reaching out to the department to learn about its needs shortly thereafter.  We expect candidates to visit campus later this academic year.  As part of those visits, they will give a scholarly talk open to the entire campus and meet with members of the faculty.  Anyone with an interest in the search should send their feedback to the search committee.

 Congratulations to Drs. Robert Adams and Marc Chimowitz

 Earlier this week, two members of our Department of Neurosciences won two of the most prestigious awards given by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.  Dr. Robert Adams is the winner of the 2013 David G. Sherman Award, which recognizes an "investigator who has made outstanding contributions in the stroke field in their lifetime".  Dr. Marc Chimowitz is the winner of the 2013 William M. Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke, which recognizes an investigator who has "made significant contributions to clinical research in stroke".  Please join me in congratulating Dr. Adams and Dr. Chimowitz on this wonderful recognition of their achievements and contributions to their field.

Faculty Breakfast Meetings

Faculty who are interested in attending one of my breakfast meetings should contact Beverly Carson ( and indicate which area of focus (research, clinical, education, administration) is of greatest interest to them.  These meetings will typically be held on Thursday mornings at 7:30 a.m.  I hope all faculty who would like to participate in these dicussions will sign up for a future breakfast meeting. 

As always....

Let's work together to meet our strategic planning goal - to be in the Top 25 among academic medical centers for reputation, quality, service, efficiency and financial performance by 2015.  I look forward to hearing from you - either in person or via email.