Skip Navigation
 Patient Care      Medical University       Research at MUSC

   University News


Etta D. Pisano, M.D.

Vice President for Medical Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine

Dear Colleagues:

Remembering Dr. Carolyn Reed

Many of us have been greatly affected by the recent passing of our colleague and friend, Dr. Carolyn Reed.  Carolyn meant a great deal to this institution through her various leadership roles, including her leadership of the Hollings Cancer Center, and she meant a great deal to many of us personally through her roles as physician, teacher, friend, and mentor.  I came to know Carolyn well since my arrival at MUSC and learned that she was a passionate advocate for high quality care of our patients.  Earlier this week, an informal gathering was held to share memories of Carolyn and begin the healing process.  A formal memorial service is scheduled for January 9, 3:30-4:30 p.m., at St. Luke’s Chapel.  In anticipation of a large turnout, several on-campus locations will have live video coverage of the service.

Carolyn has left behind an incredible legacy, and will be greatly missed by all whose lives she touched.

Golden Apple Award Winners

I’d like to recognize and congratulate this year’s Golden Apple Award winners, who were recognized by our students for their excellence.  The winners were Dr. Thierry Bacro (First Year Faculty Award), Inda Johnson (First Year Specialty Award), Dr. Debra Hazen-Martin (First Year Specialty Award), Dr. Laura Kasman (Second Year Faculty Award), Sandy Nelson (Second Year Specialty Award), Dr. David Mills (Clinical Years Faculty Award), Dr. Eric Nelson (Clinical Years Faculty Award), Dr. Angela Choi (Clinical Years House Staff Award), Sara Frampton (Clinical Years Specialty Award), Melissa Jacob (Clinical Years Specialty Award), and Christine Talbot-Bond (Clinical Years Specialty Award).  When you next see these honorees, please join me in offering your congratulations for their exemplary service to our students.

MUSC Receives “A” Hospital Safety Score

Earlier this week, MUSC was recognized by the Leapfrog Group, a nonprofit devoted to patient safety, with a Hospital Safety Score of “A”.  Congratulations to all members of our clinical enterprise for your efforts in patient safety, and to Pat Cawley and his team for their leadership in this area – it is because of your hard work that we were able to achieve this recognition.

Academy of Medical Educators – New Members and Upcoming Event

The Academy of Medical Educators (AME) has recently announced the following new members-

Dr. Deborah DeWaay (Dept. of Medicine) – Master Teacher Dr. Richard Gross (Dept. of Orthopaedic Surgery) – Distinguished Teaching Scholar

Please join me in congratulating these individuals for their selection and in thanking them for their commitment to our educational mission.

AME was established earlier this year to provide a forum for higher levels of participation, training, and recognition of faculty educators and to promote excellence, innovation, and scholarship in teaching and education.  More information about AME and the application process can be found at  The next application deadline is December 17; faculty are encouraged to consider applying for membership.  Questions about AME may be directed to the AME Co-Directors, Drs. Debra Hazen-Martin, Leonie Gordon, and Paul McDermott.

AME is sponsoring “Pearls for Medical Educators” on Thursday, December 6, at 4:00 p.m. in the Drug Discovery Building Auditorium, featuring presentations by Drs. Julius Sagel and Bill Stillway.  A reception will follow.  All members of the College are encouraged to attend.

Update from Provost Sothmann

Provost Mark Sothmann recently provided an update on several key university-wide initiatives, including university accreditation, the strategic plan, and funds flow.  A copy of the communication from Provost Sothmann can be found at

Faculty Bridge Funding Program

Faculty are reminded that the application deadline for the current cycle of the Bridge Funding Program is Monday, December 17, 2012.  The purpose of this program is to support investigators with established clinical or basic research programs during periods when a competitive renewal was not funded.  Program details and the application format are available at  Applications may be emailed to Mary McConnell at  Faculty with questions about this program should contact Senior Associate Dean for Research Craig Crosson.

BIRCWH K12 Program Accepting Applications

The Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women’s Health (BIRCWH) Career Development Program supports the research career development of junior faculty members who have recently completed clinical training or postdoctoral fellowships (less than 6 years of research training), and who have mentorship and a solid plan for training in basic, translational, clinical and/or health services research relevant to women's health in all areas of the neurosciences.  Scholars will be selected for a career development award to begin March–July 2013, and will receive 2-3 years of salary support commensurate with 75-100% effort per year to pursue multidisciplinary clinical and pre-clinical research.  The program includes a supportive environment, start-up research funds, and access to core faculty who provide expertise and guidance in research design, measurement techniques, study coordination, data management, biostatistical analysis, publishing and presenting research, and grant !

 writing.  Applicants should develop a research topic in consultation with an eligible mentor (experienced faculty with NIH research funding) and submit their applications by 12:00 p.m. on January 7, 2013.  For more information and application instructions visit or contact Sarah Gainey at or 792-8207.

Discussion Forums

As a reminder, we have created new electronic discussion platforms focusing on education, research, clinical affairs, and general information from the Dean’s Office and the College of Medicine.  These forums are intended to serve several purposes.  First, they are another way for my office to share important information with faculty, staff, and students.  Second, they are meant to encourage discussion about issues within the college and to empower everyone within the college to voice their opinions.  These “discussion forums” are intended to be not only channels for messages to be sent out, but channels for YOUR ideas, comments and questions to be heard by college leadership.  Your voice matters and we are pleased there is a new way for it to be heard.  You can access these forums by using the following links and your net ID and password:

Faculty Breakfast Meetings

Faculty who are interested in attending one of my breakfast meetings should contact Beverly Carson ( and indicate which area of focus (research, clinical, education, administration) is of greatest interest to them.  These meetings will typically be held on Thursday mornings at 7:30 a.m.  I hope all faculty who would like to participate in these discussions will sign up for a future breakfast meeting.

As always....

Let's work together to meet our strategic planning goal - to be in the Top 25 among academic medical centers for reputation, quality, service, efficiency and financial performance by 2015.  I look forward to hearing from you - either in person or via email.