Faculty members Jason Haney and Jean Nappi were recognized with awards at the MUSC 2017 Faculty Convocation

At the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) 2017 Faculty Convocation on August 22, two College of Pharmacy faculty members were recognized for University-wide awards.

Jean Nappi, professor of clinical pharmacy and outcomes science, received the 2017 MUSC Foundation Distinguished Faculty Service Award; and Jason Haney '07 '09, assistant professor of clinical pharmacy and outcomes science, received the MUSC Teaching Excellence Award in Educator-Mentor:Clinical/Professional.

The Convocation, which celebrates the new academic year and honors faculty award recipients, included the inaugural MUSC James W. Colbert Lectureship given by keynote speaker B. J. Miller, assistant clinical professor at the University of California San Francisco.

The Distinguished Faculty Service Award was established in 1997 to recognize faculty who, over a substantial portion of their careers, have provided exceptional and sustained service and who have made contributions in teaching, research, health care, and/or public service to the University and to the citizens of South Carolina.

In 1994, the Teaching Excellence program was established to recognize faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the University’s teaching mission. The Teaching Excellence: Educator-Mentor Award recognizes excellence in mentoring and serving as a role model for students in clinical or research activities.