Blackmon ’80 Receives State Association’s Highest Award

Terry Blackmon ’80, the chair of the MUSC Pharmacy Building Leadership Committee, was awarded the Bowl of Hygeia at the 2017 Annual Meeting of the South Carolina Pharmacy Association. The Bowl of Hygeia is the SCPhA’s highest honor. Other award winners from the MUSC family at the June meeting included Will Brumfield MHA ’19 (Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award) and Brian Clark ’97 (Kenneth R. Couch Distinguished Mentor Award). 

Match Rate Exceeds National Average  

The Class of 2017 had residency match results far exceeding the national average, with 89 percent of MUSC pharmacy graduates matching against a national average of 67 percent. Graduating students matched at prestigious institutions all over the country, including MD Anderson Cancer Center at the University of Texas, University of North Carolina Medical Center, Oregon State Hospital, University of Utah, Ohio State University, Wake Forest, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital and many others.


Scholarships Set New Record

On August 25, a Scholarship Recognition Luncheon honored scholarship donors and their recipients, giving the donors and students an opportunity to interact. Kaitlyn Kowalski, member of the Class of 2018, gave the keynote address. The College  presented 46 titled scholarships, representing some 111 individual awards totaling more than $176,500. This past year, MUSC pharmacy had a record number of new scholarships.


Midyear Meeting Reception Dec. 4

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Midyear Clinical Meeting is December 3-7 in Orlando and the South Carolina