MUSC College of Pharmacy preceptors and alumni Lynn and Walt Uber

Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) College of Pharmacy alumnus and adjunct faculty member Walt Uber was named a Master Preceptor, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) announced in the April 12 E-lert.

Uber ’88, R’89 was one of just three recipients nationwide in the 2018 class of the AACP Master Preceptor Recognition Program (MPRP), which recognizes preceptors who are not full-time employees of a school/college of pharmacy for their sustained commitment to excellence in experiential education and professional practice.

A clinical specialist in the adult and pediatric cardiothoracic surgery/heart and lung transplant program at MUSC, Uber has been a mentor/advisor to students in the College of Pharmacy for 30 years.

“He’s been a tremendous asset to the experiential education program at MUSC,” said Philip Hall, dean of the MUSC College of Pharmacy. “Walt’s cardiothoracic surgery rotation is one of the toughest a student will face, but it is always in great demand and students love it. They like learning from the best.”

Uber was awarded the Clinical Faculty of the Year award in 1989, the Professor of the Year award in 1993, and Preceptor of the Year in 1995, 1999, 2003 and 2006.  He also received the Orville C. Baxter Professional Practice Award from The University of Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Alumni Association for an outstanding practicing pharmacist who demonstrates high ideals for professionalism and whose practice of pharmacy demonstrates genuine concern for patients. In 2009, Uber and his critical care colleagues won the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Best Practices Award in Health Systems Pharmacy for a safety and efficacy analysis of an inpatient collaborative drug therapy management service for direct thrombin inhibitors.

Uber is the second MUSC College of Pharmacy preceptor to be recognized as Master Preceptor since the program’s inception. Tom Worrall was part of the MPRP inaugural class in 2014, when AACP launched the program following recommendations from the 2012 AACP Professional Affairs Committee Report .

“The AACP Master Preceptor Recognition Program recognizes the exemplary preceptors in the Academy who support our institutional members and future practitioners,” said Lucinda L. Maine, executive vice president and CEO of AACP, when announcing the program’s first class. “AACP introduced the Master Preceptor program to offer our members another tool for recognizing and rewarding our best preceptors who contribute so much to our students' learning.”