Skip Navigation


James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine

College of Dental Medicine

Give Kids a Smile Day at MUSC Provides Free Dental Care to Children in Need

Give Kids a Smile Day, held on Friday, February 28, 2014 at the JBECDM, helped 75 children in need and provided over $30,000 in treatment. Approximately 100 volunteer dentists, students, hygenists and staff participated....Click here to read more.

New Chairman of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Announced

The college is proud to announce the appointment of Martin B. Steed, D.D.S., as chairman of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and associate dean for Hospital Affairs (within the James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine)....Click here to read more.

CDM Makes Kids Smile by Participating in the MUSC Angel Tree Parade

On December 6, 2013, the College of Dental Medicine’s (CDM) staff, faculty, students and residents joined together to support the local community by contributing toys and clothing for families and children in need during this holiday season. ...Click here to read more.

More Stories...

Welcome to the College of Dental Medicine. Dentistry is bonded to the other health care professions by common goals. The dentist, the physician, and other health care professionals share in contributing to the total health of the individual and the community.

The College accepts responsibility for improving the dental and oral health of the citizens which it serves. We are a source of high quality dental and oral health care and an integral part of the inpatient and referral services of the Medical Center.
The College of Dental Medicine is committed to excellence and leadership in the advancement of knowledge. It is focused on the prudent use of its resources for the advancement of biomedical research.

John J. Sanders, DDS
College of Dental Medicine
Professor, Division of Periodontics
Medical University of South Carolina