Skip Navigation
 

MUSC Student Handbook

College of Nursing

Multicultural Student Nurses Association (MSNA)

On July 11, 2011, a cadre of fellow students saw a need to reestablish a former organization, known as the Multicultural Student Nurses Organization. The reestablished organization shall be known as the Multicultural Student Nurses Association (MSNA). To identify the first slate of new officers, persons who had voiced an interest in reestablishing the new organization and other underrepresented minority students were invited to run for office, as this process was most expedient for identifying student officers.

PresidentDenise Smalls 
President-elect  
SecretarySalome Seraprum 
Corresponding SecretaryJuliet Brown 
TreasurerAlex D'Angelo 
Corresponding Treasurer  
Volunteer Chairs  
   
Campus Liason  
Liason to the Diversity Committee  
HistorianRebecca Rock 
Fundraising Committee  
   
Social and Culture Committee  
 
PR Committee  
   
AdvisorDr. Ida Spruill 
Co-AdvisorDr. Tiffany Williams 


Student Government Association

The College of Nursing Student Government Association is the governing body for the undergraduate students enrolled in the College of Nursing. It also functions to assist the administration and faculty in promoting professional attitudes and fellowship. The Student Government Associations plans an Annual Career Fair, assists with New Student Orientation, and presents the Golden Lamp Award to the outstanding faculty member at the College of Nursing Convocation. Students are also asked to serve on College of Nursing committees and task forces, as well as the College of Nursing Alumni Board. All College of Nursing undergraduate students are members of the Student Government Association. Elections are held in early fall. 

PresidentKenny Gordongorok@musc.edu
Vice PresidentAlyssa Davisdavals@musc.edu
TreasurerSally Gallmangallmans@musc.edu
SecretaryAllex Raederraeder@musc.edu
Policy WriterEve Treibertreibere@musc.edu
1st Semester Repsn/a-
 n/a-
2nd Semester RepsAshley Jonesjonesas@musc.edu
 Georgitte Gilmangilmang@musc.edu
3rd Semester RepsBrian Daigledaigleb@musc.edu
 Katy Dorrdorrk@musc.edu
4th Semester Repsn/a-
 n/a-
Social CoordinatorMelanie Geradtsmmgeradts@musc.edu
SNA/SGA LiasonTina Evangelistaevange@musc.edu

Sigma Theta Tau (Gamma Omicron Chapter)

The Gamma Omicron Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing was established at MUSC in 1978.  Undergraduate candidates (BSN and RN-BSN) for membership are required to complete one half (minus 1-2 credits) of the nursing curriculum.  “Nursing curriculum” refers to courses that carry a nursing prefix.  Membership at the undergraduate level is based on a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.  In addition, students are required to rank in the upper 35% of their graduating class.  Graduates of baccalaureate nursing programs may be considered under the criteria up to one year following graduation provided they have the minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale and rank in the upper 35% of their graduating class.

Students in the graduate program are required to have a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale.  Students in the master’s program are required to have completed one-fourth of their program of study to be considered for membership.  For example, if the program requires a total of 36 semester hours, students would be considered for membership at the completion of 9 semester hours.

Student Nurses Association (SNA)

The Charleston chapter of the Student Nurses Association is Sigma Nu Alpha.   It sponsors programs and activities throughout the academic year.  It is active in state and local chapters, and its purpose and function is to foster the highest standard of nursing education and health care and to aid individual nursing students in the development of the whole person and their professional roles.

PresidentMarie Beckbeckmc@musc.edu
Vice PresidentNicole Oliveoliveni@musc.edu
SecretaryLindsay Gohlgohl@musc.edu
TreasurerKatelan Robertsonrobertka@musc.edu
HistorianRebecca Klenkklenk@musc.edu
Community Service ChairHannah Rionrion@musc.edu
Breakthrough to NursingMaryRose Bugbeebugbee@musc.edu
Legislative DirectorHeather Wallwallh@musc.edu
1st Semester Repsn/a-
 n/a-
2nd Semester RepsMattilyn Williamswilliama@musc.edu
 Cara Statenstatenc@musc.edu
3rd Semester RepsJosh Coxcoxjb@musc.edu
 Becky Rockrockr@musc.edu
4th Semester Repsn/a-
 n/a-
Faculty AdvisorMardi Longlongm@musc.edu

 

codehb
 
 
 

© 2012  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer