Skip Navigation

MUSC Student Handbook

College of Nursing

Multicultural Student Nurses Association (MSNA)

On July 11, 2011, a cadre of fellow students saw a need to reestablish a former organization, known as the Multicultural Student Nurses Organization. The reestablished organization shall be known as the Multicultural Student Nurses Association (MSNA). To identify the first slate of new officers, persons who had voiced an interest in reestablishing the new organization and other underrepresented minority students were invited to run for office, as this process was most expedient for identifying student officers.

PresidentKyra Wilson
President-electToya Williams
SecretaryShanice Strobhart
Corresponding SecretaryBrittany Phillips
TreasurerMadison McMackin
Corresponding TreasurerTiffany Jamerson
Volunteer ChairsKelley Corbett
Brittany Phillips
Campus LiasonKimbi Marenakos
Liason to the Diversity CommitteeShyronda Knotts
HistorianKatie McDevitt
Fundraising CommitteeAllison Roble
Daisy Smith
Social and Culture CommitteeMinerva Gomez
Tiffany Jamerson
PR CommitteeZachary Childress
Christie Beck
AdvisorDr. Ida Spruill
Co-AdvisorDr. Tiffany Williams

Student Government Association

The College of Nursing Student Government Association is the governing body for the undergraduate students enrolled in the College of Nursing. It also functions to assist the administration and faculty in promoting professional attitudes and fellowship. The Student Government Associations plans an Annual Career Fair, assists with New Student Orientation, and presents the Golden Lamp Award to the outstanding faculty member at the College of Nursing Convocation. Students are also asked to serve on College of Nursing committees and task forces, as well as the College of Nursing Alumni Board. All College of Nursing undergraduate students are members of the Student Government Association. Elections are held in early fall. 

PresidentMichael Occhipiniti
Vice PresidentDaniel Martin
SecretaryLibby Yee
TreasurerTiffany Jamerson
Policy WriterChristie Beck
4th Semester RepsKelly Creech
Kyra Wilson
3rd Semester Reps
Valerie Kneece
Megan Thompson
Legislative DirectorKimbi Marenakos
1st Semester Reps
To be elected
Social CoordinatorTina Wagner
SNA/SGA LiasonKatie Langdon
AdvisorMardi Long

Sigma Theta Tau (Gamma Omicron Chapter)

The Gamma Omicron Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing was established at MUSC in 1978.  Undergraduate candidates (BSN and RN-BSN) for membership are required to complete one half (minus 1-2 credits) of the nursing curriculum.  “Nursing curriculum” refers to courses that carry a nursing prefix.  Membership at the undergraduate level is based on a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.  In addition, students are required to rank in the upper 35% of their graduating class.  Graduates of baccalaureate nursing programs may be considered under the criteria up to one year following graduation provided they have the minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale and rank in the upper 35% of their graduating class.

Students in the graduate program are required to have a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale.  Students in the master’s program are required to have completed one-fourth of their program of study to be considered for membership.  For example, if the program requires a total of 36 semester hours, students would be considered for membership at the completion of 9 semester hours.

Student Nurses Association (SNA)

The Charleston chapter of the Student Nurses Association is Sigma Nu Alpha.   It sponsors programs and activities throughout the academic year.  It is active in state and local chapters, and its purpose and function is to foster the highest standard of nursing education and health care and to aid individual nursing students in the development of the whole person and their professional roles.

PresidentLaney Purser
Vice PresidentEmily Eling
SecretaryLindsey Wilzbach
TreasurerBrittany Dunsford
HistorianSarah Hornsby
Community Service Co-Chair
Katie McDevitt
Community Service Co-ChairMeghan Behlmer
Breakthrough to Nursing
Katie McDevitt
4th Semester RepsSominique Cognetta
Kaitlyn O'Gorman
3rd Semester Reps
Bailee Weldon
Kasey Henderson
1st Semester Reps
To be elected
Social CoordinatorTina Wagner
SNA/SGA LisasonKatie Langdon
AdvisorMardi Long

© 2012  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer