Skip Navigation
MUSC Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors
MUSC NAI Fellows

MUSC NAI Home >> MUSC NAI Fellows

MUSC NAI Fellows

John Vournakis, Ph.D.
VP for Research and Development
Marine Polymer Technologies, Inc. & Admune Therapeutics, LLC

Bärbel Rohrer, Ph.D.
Professor of Opthalmology

Steve Tomlinson, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology/Immunology

Craig Beeson, Ph.D.
Drug Discovery & Biomedical Sciences

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

Academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society and support and enhancement of innovation.

Collectively, the NAI Fellows Program has 244 Fellows worldwide representing 216 universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions, and holding 9,000 issues U.S. patents. NAI Fellows include 40 presidents and senior leadership of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 128 members of the National Academies (NAS, NAE, IOM), 16 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, 11 recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, six recipients of the National Medal of Science, 17 Nobel Laureates, nine Lemelson-MIT Prize recipients, 54 AAAS Fellows, among other major awards and distinctions.