Skip Navigation

MUSC GME Resident Handbook

Home > Graduate Medical Education > Administration & Governance > Resident Committee Representatives
Graduate Medical Education  2017-2018

Close Window


Resident Handbook Introduction

Letter of Commitment/
Accreditation Status Disclaimer

Administration & Governance - Graduate Medical Education Programs

Policies & Procedures

Salaries & Benefits

MUSC Policies

Appendix 1 - Resident Agreements (Medical and Dental)

Appendix 2 - Evaluation Forms

Appendix 3 - Forms

Appendix 4 - Scopes of Practice

Appendix 5 - Program Resources



Graduate Medical Education

The GMEC oversees all educational programs and implements the policies and procedures for residents and residency programs within MUSC ensuring high-quality education for its residents. The GMEC ensures programs are adhering to the policies and procedures of the ACGME while maintaining their educational commitment to the residents. (This committee will actually have four resident representatives. Three will be elected and the fourth position will be the President of the House Staff Council.)

  • Mark Siegel, Pediatrics (House Staff Council President)
  • Merle Haulsee, Internal Medicine
  • Mohammed Orabi, Neurology
  • Christopher Stem, Pediatrics

Annual Program Evaluation

The APE Committee ensures all ACGME-accredited residency programs are in compliance with ACGME Institutional and Program Requirements.   This committee will have two residents that will serve a full academic year (July – June).

  • Lloyd Felmly, CT Surgery
  • Anne Wanaselja, Anesthesiology

Medical Executive

The MEC is the professional policy board of the hospital and is responsible for supervision and enforcement of all professional policies, rules and regulations. Its purpose is to ensure high quality, patient-centered, cost effective care throughout MUSC's clinical enterprise.

  • Thomas Lewis, Addiction Psychiatry

MUSC Ethics

The Ethics Committee works to improve patient care within an ethical framework. Committee functions include clinical consultation, policy development and review, and ethics education.

  • Michelle Greene, Pediatrics

Blood Utilization Review

The BUR committee monitors the use of blood and blood components at the MUSC Medical Center.

  • Lloyd Felmly, Cardiothoracic Surgery

Hospital Infection Control

The ICC investigates and controls nosicomial infections and monitors the MUHA Infection Control program. It is a Medical Staff Committee responsible for the development and implementation of policies and practices to decrease healthcare-associated infections in patients and staff.

  • Stephanie Glenn, Neonatology

Health Information Management Committee

The HIM committee oversees the policies and procedures of the governance and functioning of all parts of the medical record.

  • Tom Hardy, Pediatrics

Quality Operations

The QOC reports and reviews all new and ongoing quality efforts in the clinical enterprise.

  • Kristen Dahl, Anesthesiology


The IMPROVE Committee gives guidance and recommendations on all quality projects that have been endorsed by the senior leaders within the hospital and medical staff.  The role is to ensure that the IMPROVE process is followed and that there are relevant and sustained results.  This committee makes the final recommendation on whether projects are appropriate to close or not.  

  • Bridget Curley, Pediatrics


The leadership of MUSC Medical Center has established the Accreditation/Regulatory Committee with responsibility to ensure Joint Commission standards, CMS standards, and other regulatory standards are implemented and monitored across the entire organization. Membership of the committee will be comprised of key people from cross-functional areas who are recognized as formal or informal leaders in regulatory compliance, and have proven their abilities to effect change.

  • Hannah Purcell, Anesthesiology

Patient Throughput

The Patient Throughput Committee monitors the flow of patients across the medical center by overseeing flow dashboards and metrics as well as all policies and procedures associated with placement of patients on select units. 

  • Morgan Randall, Internal Medicine

College of Medicine Student Progress Committee and Professional Standards Subcommittee

The Student Progress Committee conducts meetings four times a year as well as on an as needed basis.  During these meetings the Progress Committee reviews the academic progress of all students with regard to established progression standards.  Students who do not meet required academic or professional standards are considered individually by the Progress Committee.  If there concern about a pattern of a student’s unprofessional behavior, the student will appear before the professional standards subcommittee.  These meetings are held as needed, but historically there have been about 4-6 of these meetings a year.  The meetings of both the Student Progress Committee and the Professional Standards Subcommittee are usually from 4:30 -6:30 p.m., 601 CSB. 

  • Stephanie Glenn, Neonatology
  • Thomas Lewis, Forensic Psychiatry

Medication Decision Support Subcommittee

The Medication Decision Support Subcommittee is looking for medical representation to help review medication alert build and determine customization of settings, where necessary.  The subcommittee reports to the Decision Support Oversight Committee (DSOC) and the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee.  It is responsible for management of medication-related decision support seen by users of the electronic health record (EHR).  The committee is chartered to review, amend, and monitor medication alerts and other decision support tools to improve the overall usefulness and value to the clinicians throughout the organization.  Examples of medication decision support include but are not limited to the following: medication warnings (dose, drug interactions, pregnancy, duplicates), incorporating lab values in the order composer; maximum dose warnings.

  • Shelby Allen, Surgery

Medication Safety and Improvement 

The MSIC strives for safety throughout the medication use process.

  • James Mauro, Psychiatry

Continuing Medical Education Advisory

Charge to the Committee: The Committee serves to advise and assist the Office of Continuing Medical Education in the planning, organization and conduct of continuing medical education offered by the College of Medicine.  The Committee functions include the following:  Apply criteria for CME accreditation developed by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education and policies established to govern sponsorship of CME activities; Provide liaison with Departments and Divisions of the College involved in CME activities; Participate in Annual Review of CME program in the College of Medicine; Participate in strategic planning process for the CME; Review and approve documents prepared or revised by the CME staff;  Participate in discussions by individuals who provide important areas of collaboration with the CME program.                                      

  • Heidi Murphy, Neonatology