Skip Navigation
  • students
  • microscope
  • lab
  • crystals
  • first years

College of Graduate Studies

First Year Curriculum Steering Committee

Adam J. Smolka, Ph.D., Chair

The Steering Committee is charged with continued evaluation, revision, and evolution of the First Year Curriculum for the College of Graduate Studies. The committee meets once in each of the Fall, Spring and Summer semesters. The committee may meet more often as deemed necessary by the chair or the Dean. Two weeks prior to a scheduled meeting, the chair solicits agenda items from committee members and the entire graduate faculty. The transactions of the Steering Committee are reported to the Graduate Council by the chair, who is an ex officio member of the Graduate Council. The chair also reports on Steering Committee activities at the Dean’s quarterly meetings of the department chairmen.

Membership of the Steering Committee comprises the course directors of constituent elements of the First Year Curriculum, CGS 701/702 Unit leaders, a first year student representative and an alternate elected by their class, and the First Year Curriculum course director (chair). The Dean and the Associate Dean serve as ex officio members of the committee. Current members of the Steering Committee are:

Carl Atkinson, Microbiology and Immunology
Lauren Ball, Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
Craig Beeson, Drug Discovery and Biomedical Sciences
Amy Bradshaw, Regenerative Medicine and Cell Biology
Christopher Davies, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Scott Eblen, Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
Robert Gemmill, Medicine
Perry Halushka, Cell and Molecular Pharmacology
Tilman Heise, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Satomi Kohno, Marine Biomedicine and Environmental Sciences
Edward L. Krug, Regenerative Medicine and Cell Biology
David Kurtz, Cell and Molecular Pharmacology
Hainan Lang, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Jakie McGinty, Neuroscience
Steve Rosenzweig, Cell and Molecular Pharmacology
Adam Smolka (Chair), Medicine
Julie Woolworth, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Cynthia Wright, Diversity Course
Grad. Student, to be elected


© Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer