Skip Navigation

Internal Audit

Audit Committee


Thomas L. Stephenson, Esq.

Mr. Stephenson has served on the Board since 1998 and was elected Chairman in 2010. The lay representative from Congressional District 4, this Greenville attorney received both B.S. and J.D. degrees from the University of South Carolina. Mr. Stephenson has practiced law since 1979 and has spent his entire life in the State. He represents clients in commercial and employment matters and has been consistently recognized by “The Best Lawyers in America” and as one of the “Top 25 Attorneys in South Carolina” as published in South Carolina Super Lawyers. Mr. Stephenson's contributions to public service have included President of the Legal Services Agency of Western Carolina; President of the Greenville Cancer Society; Greenville Civil Service Commission member; and 300 for Greenville. He and his wife Dianne live in Greenville and have two adult children.


Edward Conyers O’Bryan, Jr., M.D.

This native of Florence has served on the Board of Trustees since 1976 as the medical professions representative from Congressional District 6. He served as Chair of the Board from 1994 to 1998 and was re-elected as Chair in 2000. After graduating from the University of South Carolina with a B.A. degree, Dr. O’Bryan received an M.D. from MUSC. He served as a Medical Officer in the United States Marines before returning to MUSC for his residency. Dr. O’Bryan is now in private practice in cardiology in Florence, and he holds a full clinical professorship at MUSC. His civic activities include serving on the Board of Directors of the Kiwanis Club, the Big Brother Association, and the Family YMCA. In 1995, Dr. O’Bryan was awarded the Order of the Palmetto. He has been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of MUSC, South Carolina Physician of the Year and has served on the Board of Directors of the American Heart Association. He and his wife Jennie have one child.


Charles W. Schulze, C.P.A.

A native of Greenwood, Mr. Schulze began his first term as a trustee in 2002 as the lay representative from the Third Congressional District. He graduated from Georgia Military Academy, received a BBA degree in accounting from the University of Georgia and a Masters Degree in Accounting from the University of South Carolina. Mr. Schulze is a Veteran of the Vietnam War and spent fours year in the US Air Force between 1968 and 1972. Among his decorations are the Outstanding Unit Award with “V” Device for Combat Valor and Palm device, the Vietnam Service Medal with four campaign stars, the Korean Defense Service Medal, the Vietnam Gallantry Cross with Palm and the Republic of Vietnam Campaign Medal.
Mr. Schulze is a shareholder in the regional accounting and consulting firm of Elliott Davis, LLC. He is a Distinguished Lecturer at the University of Georgia and a member of the Tull School of Accounting Advisory Board. He is the former President of the SC Association of CPA’s and a former member of and chairman of the SC Board of Accountancy. Active throughout his career with many non-profit boards, Mr. Schulze received both the SC Association of CPA’s and the American Institute of CPA’s public service awards. He and his wife Sarah have two children.


Audit Committee Charter


©  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer