Skip Navigation
MUSC mobile menu
Department of Medicine

Research Symposium

Department of Medicine Research Symposium

The MUSC Department of Medicine held its 12th Annual Research Symposium on Friday, March 30, 2018, with over 50 abstracts presented. Congratulations to the presenters and award winners who participated in this year’s Symposium and many thanks to the judges who contributed their time and effort to make this year’s event a success!

2018 Research Symposium Winners

Graduate Student

  • Rebecca McLeese (Endocrinology)
  • Myra Happe (Infectious Diseases)
  • Tanjina Akter (Rheumatology)

Medical Students (1st & 2nd Years)

  • Seth Bollenbecker (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • Joseph Tracey (Department of Orthopedics)

Medical Students (3rd & 4th Years)

  • Mary Brooks (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • John Mark Sawyer (Department of Emergency Medicine)
  • Maham Awan (Rheumatology)

Postdoctoral Fellows

  • Clare Kelly, Ph.D. (Endocrinology)
  • Willian Da Silveira, Ph.D. (Nephrology)


  • DeAnna Baker Frost, M.D., Ph.D. (Rheumatology)
  • Nick Fox, M.D. (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • Prince Amaechi, M.D. (Nephrology)

Basic Junior Faculty

  • Ehtesham Arif, Ph.D. (Nephrology)

Clinical Junior Faculty

  • Elizabeth Kirkland, M.D., MSCR (General Internal Medicine)
  • Benjamin Kalivas, M.D. (General Internal Medicine)

Oral Presenters

  • Ashish Solanki, Ph.D. (Nephrology)
  • Daria Ilatovskaya, Ph.D. (Nephrology)
  • Adam Kouns, M.D. (Pulmonary and Critical Care)
  • Heather Hughes, M.D., MPH (Infectious Diseases)

Mentor of the Year

  • William Moran, M.D. (General Internal Medicine)

2018 Research Symposium Posters

Untitled Document