Skip Navigation


Dr. Miller Awarded Excellence in Periodontology

Read Full Article from DentistryiQ

The American Academy of Periodontology awarded excellence in periodontology among members at the association's 98th annual meeting in Los Angeles, Calif.

“It is a great privilege to recognize my colleagues’ valuable achievements in periodontics,” said AAP President Dr. Nancy Newhouse.

"The advancements made by these talented individuals help members of the AAP and fellow periodontists around the world treat patients more effectively and efficiently I hope their work inspires other dental professionals to contribute to the field of periodontics.”

Individual Awards

Dr. MillerGold Medal Award
Founded in 1967, the Gold Medal Award is the highest honor bestowed by the AAP and is sponsored by Sunstar Americas, Inc. This year, the AAP recognizes Dr. Preston D. Miller Jr., for his outstanding contributions to the field of periodontics. Dr. Miller was the first to publish and present the free gingival graft as a predictable procedure for root coverage. In addition, he developed the Miller Classification system, which is utilized to delineate the type of recession for a tooth. He is a past recipient of the Master Clinician Award and past president of the AAP. He also established the Humanitarian Award for the AAP. He is a peer reviewer for the Journal of Periodontology, has published numerous articles, contributed to four textbooks and lectures extensively throughout the world. Dr. Miller now teaches the next generation of periodontists at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Dr. Miller is a graduate of Davidson College, a Merit Graduate of the Medical College of Virginia School of Dentistry, a member of OKU, served in the United States Air Force and attended his specialty training at the University of Alabama-Birmingham. He is also a Fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists, American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry, and the Southern Academy of Periodontology.


©  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer