Skip Navigation


National Women’s History Museum Honors MUSC College of Medicine Dean Among Five Named as Living Legends for The 2013 de Pizan Honors

Dr. PisanoThis year’s Third Annual de Pizan Honors honorees are, for the most part, household names. The awards honor women who have shaped history.Among them on the famous Arena Stage in Washington, DC this month will be the dean of the Medical University of South Carolina’s College of Medicine, Etta D. Pisano, M.D. Through her research, Dr. Pisano has been changing the lives of people who likely have never heard her name.
According to the National Women’s History Museum (NWHM), a permanent exhibit in tribute to the lives and accomplishments of its honorees, is planned for a future NWHM space at the National Mall in Washington DC. The exhibit will be designed to highlight the lives and contributions of de Pizan Honors recipients and secure their place in history. 
Dr. Pisano joined the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) as Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the College of Medicine on July 1, 2010. Her life’s work has focused on the development and testing of imaging technology for the early detection and diagnosis of breast cancer. She is widely known for serving as Principal Investigator of the largest clinical trial ever run by a radiologist.  The Digital Mammographic Imaging Screening Trial (DMIST), enrolled nearly 50,000 women in a study comparing digital to film mammography, the results of which were published in 2005 in the New England Journal of Medicine.
A champion of diversity, mentoring, and work-life balance, Pisano is a mother of four and one of only about a dozen women medical school deans in the country. She is the first at MUSC. Other winners of this year’s awards are opera’s shining star, Denyce Graves, Secretary of the Interior, Sally Jewel, entertainer, Phylicia Rashad and documentary filmmaker, Ken Burns.
The de Pizan honors will be presented on Wednesday, October 9, 2013 at 7:00pm on the Arena Stage at Washington, DC’s Mead Center for American Theater. This year’s honorary event chairs are the honorable Elizabeth Dole and Mrs. Lynda Bird Johnson Robb.


©  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer