The College of Nursing held the Pinning Ceremony for 42 graduates of the RN to BSN degree program on August 16 at St. Luke’s Chapel. After a warm welcome from Dean Linda Weglicki, Ph.D., RN, Associate Professor Teresa Stephens, Ph.D., RN, delivered an inspiring keynote address to the audience. 
Several graduates were invited to join Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society for Nursing, including Allyson Reser Ackerman, Blair Elizabeth Bartleson, Catherine Jean Bellamy, Kristen Kelly Grooms, Deronda Sarah Marie Wilson Honig, Jeannine Linomontes, Robyn K. McBeath, Jason Ricky Smith, Doug Tolerton, Rochelle Worley and Shannon Lee Zeilinger.
The Pinning Ceremony marks the passage from the student role to the practice role, a tradition that dates back to the 1860s when Florence Nightingale awarded symbolic medals to nurses who helped her care for soldiers during the Crimean War.