Skip Navigation

MUSC Students Excel in Leadership

Presidential Scholars
Congratulations to the College of Nursing students selected to participate in Presidential Scholars: Christie Beck, Chanita Coulter, Martha Fletcher (DNP), Cameo Green (DNP), Kimbi Marenakos, Kathryn McDevitt, and Toya Williams.

The MUSC Presidential Scholars Program is the university’s premiere interprofessional program for students. It was originated by MUSC President Greenberg when he was the MUSC provost as a mechanism to enrich the academic culture of the university and promote greater interprofessional understanding among health professional students.

Student Leadership Society Selects Green
Cameo Green, DNP student, was selected for the MUSC Student Leadership Society. After graduating from College of Nursing’s MSN program, Cameo returned last fall to earn her DNP. She was recognized at the MUSC Student Leadership and Service Banquet on April 17. Congratulations!

McDevitt Elected President of SIPS
Katie McDevitt, a first semester accelerated BSN degree student, has been elected president of the Student Interprofessional Society (SIPS). SIPS is a campus-wide student group dedicated to promoting the concept of interprofessional education. As future health care professionals, students at MUSC will be expected to collaborate successfully with a wide spectrum of people outside their specialty. This group was created to facilitate interaction between disparate disciplines while still in professional training.

Fountain Featured in National Essay Contest
Jacob Fountain won the “What do you believe about nursing” essay contest for March 2013 sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s New Careers in Nursing. This national essay contest asks nursing students to share a personal story about why they want to become a nurse, what they have learned, who inspired them or what they want to contribute to the profession. Click here to read Jacob’s response of why he dreamed of becoming a nurse.