SC COBRE in Oxidants, Redox Balance and Stress Signaling

Members

Kenneth Tew, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Chairman and Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Expertimental Therapeutics
Endowed Chair of Cancer Research

tewk@musc.edu
843.792.2514

Rick Schnellmann, Ph.D.
Co-Principal Investigator

Chairman and Professor of Pharmaceutical & Biomedical Sciences
Distinguished University Professor

schnell@musc.edu
843.792.3754

Investigators

Sherine Chan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical & Biomedical Sciences

chans@musc.edu
843.792.6095

Danyelle Townsend, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical & Biomedical Sciences

townsed@musc.edu
843.876.2391

Joachim Uys, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

uys@musc.edu
843.876.2348

Marcelo Vargas, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

vargasm@musc.edu

Mariana Pehar, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

pehar@musc.edu
843-792-1609

Core Directors

Lauren Ball, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

ballle@musc.edu
843.792.4513

Craig Beeson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences

beesonc@musc.edu
843.876.5091

John Lemasters, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences
Endowed Chair in Advance Cellular Technologies

lemaste@musc.edu
843.876.2360

External Advisory Board

Ruma Banerjee, Ph.D.
University of Michigan

Vincent Massey Collegiate Professor of Biological Chemistry

More about Dr. Banerjee...

Dean Jones, Ph.D.
Emory University

Professor of Medicine
Director of Clinical Biomarkers Laboratory

More about Dr. Jones...

Yvonne Janssen-Heininger, Ph.D.
University of Vermont

Professor of Pathology

More about Dr. Janssen-Heininger...

Garth Powis, Ph.D.
Sanford-Burnham Medical Institute

Professor and Chair of Sandford-Burnham Medical Research Institute NCI-Designated Cancer Center

More about Dr. Powis...

Peter Van-Bladeren, Ph.D.
Nestle Corporation

Head of CT - Regulatory and Scientific Affairs

More about Dr. Van Bladeren...

Internal Advisory Board

Darwin Bell, Ph.D.

Professor of Nephrology
Endowed Chair of Nephrology Research

bellpd@musc.edu
843.876.2372

Richard Drake, Ph.D.

Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacolgy and Experimental Therapeutics
Endowed Chair of Proteomics

draker@musc.edu
843.792.4505

Phil Howe, Ph.D.

Professor of Biochemistry
Endowed Chair for Clinical Oncology

howep@musc.edu
843.792.4687

Patrick Woster, Ph.D.

Professor of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences
Endowed Chair in Drug Discovery

woster@musc.edu
843.876.2453

Mentors

John Hildebrandt, Ph.D.

Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

hildebjd@musc.edu
843.792.3209

Scott Eblen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Cell and Molecular Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

eblen@musc.edu
843.792.8367