Skip Navigation
MUSC mobile menu


  • Education
  • image
  • Addiction
  • Addiction


The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) BIRCWH Leadership

Principal InvestigatorKathleen Brady, MD, PhD
Program DirectorJacqueline McGinty, PhD
Program Coordinator 

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) is composed of the PI (Brady), the PD (McGinty), and faculty representing programs and four colleges across the MUSC campus. This group is responsible for assisting in the recruitment and selection of BIRCWH scholars. They assist in promoting BIRWCH through their colleges/programs to ensure a pool of qualified applicants. They meet quarterly to assess applications and select scholars, monitor and track the Scholars’ career development plans and progress to ensure that the research experience is interactive and integrated with the program plan and objectives, and to help organize activities such as seminar series, workshops/symposia and relevant courses. The constituency of the SC ensures multi- and interdisciplinary perspectives in recruitment, selection, and mentoring activities to achieve our stated objectives for a broad base of knowledge and skills, information exchange and interaction, continuous learning, networking, and outstanding career development opportunities in women’s health research.

In addition to Drs. Brady and McGinty, the MUSC BIRCWH Steering Committee members include:

  • Marc Chimowitz, MD, ChB, Professor of Neurosciences, Associate Dean for Faculty Development, and Director of the SCTR KL2 Program, serves as liaison with SCTR training and career development programs.
  • Steven Kautz, PhD, Chair and Professor of Health Sciences in the College of Health Professions, has mentored junior faculty primarily through VA-sponsored Career Development Awards.
  • Aimee McRae-Clark, PharmD, BCPP, Professor of Psychiatry and Neurosciences and Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy, is an active gender-focused clinical researcher who has served as preceptor and mentor for clinical pharmacy fellows and junior faculty.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board (AB) meets annually and provides oversight and direction in the development, implementation, and evaluation of the BIRCWH Program. The Board includes internal members who represent key components of university administration and constituent colleges or departments, and two external members who have national recognition and direct experience in women’s health research, mentorship and research career development (see table below). The AB directly consults with and advises the PI and PD. They evaluate the overall conduct of the BIRCWH Program and advise on recruitment and retention of a cadre of scholars with appropriate diversity of racial, ethnic, gender and disciplinary backgrounds, use of program resources, and future research directions and opportunities. 



Area of Expertise

Deborah Deas, MD, MPH

Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Senior Associate Dean of Admissions, College of Medicine, 
& Senior Associate Dean for Diversity, Interim Dean, College of Medicine,MUSC

Administration/diversity initiatives

Harriet de Wit, PhD

Professor of Psychiatry & Behavioral Neuroscience,
University of Chicago

Interdisciplinary and translational neuroscience research

Gary Gilkeson, MD

Professor of Rheumatology & Immunology,
& Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs & Faculty Development, College of Medicine, MUSC

Women’s health/interdisciplinary clinical and translational research

Eugene Orringer, MD

Professor of Medicine & Director, Education/Training/Career Development Core- NC TraCS Institute,
University of North Carolina

Training and mentorship/ CTSA- BIRCWH interactions

Joann Sullivan, PhD

Professor of Library Science & Informatics,
& Director for the Office of Research Development, MUSC

Program evaluation