Skip Navigation

Medical University | MUSC Hospital | College of Medicine | Directory

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

MUSC logo



About the Division
CND Faculty & Staff
Currently Recruiting Studies
Seminar Schedules
Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship
Contact Us

Aimee L. McRae-Clark,
PharmD, BCPP

Clinical Neuroscience Division
Associate Professor, Departments of
Psychiatry and Neurosciences



Specialized Center of Research (SCOR)
on Sex and Gender Factors Affecting Women's Health
Home  •  Research Components  •  Pilot Projects & Trainees  •  Leadership  •  Publications  •  Links  •  CALENDAR
 Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is composed of Dr. Brady, Director of the MUSC SCOR, and Dr. McRae-Clark, Co-Director.  This committee meets monthly to review operations, progress and problem areas and on an as-needed basis for emergent issues affecting the SCOR.  This committee provides internal checks and balances and affords individual PIs an opportunity to discuss/appeal administrative and fiscal decisions.

Kathleen T. Brady, M.D., Ph.D.
SCOR Director

Dr. Brady has served as the Director and PI of the MUSC SCOR for the past eleven years.  She is a Distinguished University Professor, psychiatrist and pharmacologist with a lengthy record of federally-funded clinical and translational research and considerable experience in teaching and research mentoring.  She has achieved national and international prominence for her research in the area of psychiatric comorbidity and addictions, and has over 300 scientific publications in this area.  Dr. Brady is also the PI for the NIH-sponsored Clinical Trials Network (CTN), which was initially funded in 2000 and funded again through competitive renewals in 2005 and 2010.  Dr. Brady serves as the Program Director of the MUSC General Clinical Research Center (GCRC) and Associate Dean for Clinical Research in the College of Medicine at MUSC.  In 2009, she led a successful application for a CTSA to form the South Carolina Clinical and Translational Research Institute (SCTR), which she now directs.  This position has enhanced her administrative experience, widened her research perspective and places her in an ideal position to continue to improve the visibility and prioritization of research in women’s health on the MUSC campus.


Aimee McRae-Clark, Pharm.D., BCPP
SCOR Co-Director, Outreach &
Pilot Project Programs

Dr. McRae-Clark has been a member of the SCOR investigative team since its inception, and assisted in directing the Administrative Core during the last funding period. She served as a Co-I on a component of the initial SCOR application (Gender differences in response to cues in cocaine dependence, PI: Brady), and is currently participating as a component Co-PI in the current center (Oxytocin and Cocaine Dependence). She has served as PI or Co-I on more than twenty clinical trials, and as such has a wealth of experience conducting clinical research. She has mentored a number of graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty and is a member of the BIRCWH Steering Committee. She has a history of successful collaborations with Dr. Brady developing human clinical laboratory paradigms to run in parallel with preclinical models. She is also active in several outreach programs that facilitate the MUSC SCOR’s proposed community engagement efforts, and her appointments in multiple colleges and departments across MUSC help in cross-campus collaborations.


 Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) provides scientific quality control, consultation and intellectual exchange.  This group contains leading experts in the areas of SCOR research focus (DeWitt, Kalivas, Hatsukami, Lynch, Stitzer, Waterhouse) as well as experienced administrators and experts in women’s health in area’s outside of the SCOR focus (Dean Pisano, Kalivas) in order to give a broad and balanced perspective.  They advise the SCOR Executive Committee concerning direction and productivity of the SCOR. 

Harriet de Wit, Ph.D.
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
The University of Chicago

Dorothy Hatsukami, Ph.D.
Forster Family Professor in Cancer Prevention
Associate Director, Cancer Prevention and Control
Director, Tobacco Research Programs
University of Minnesota
Wendy J. Lynch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences
University of Virginia

Peter Kalivas, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor
Professor and Co-Chair, Department of Neurosciences
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina

Maxine L. Stitzer, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
The John Hopkins University School of Medicine
Barry D. Waterhouse, Ph.D.
Vice-Dean, Biomedical Graduate and Postgraduate Studies
Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Drexel University College of Medicine