Skip Navigation
MUSC mobile menu


Physics Residency

The MUSC Radiation Oncology Physics Residency Program is a two year CAMPEP accredited program that accepts one resident per year. The radiation oncology department currently has six medical residents and two physics residents all training on a broad variety of  state-of-the-art equipment. All physics resident graduates have successfully completed their ABR certification on the first attempt. Our residency graduates are working in both medical universities as well as community based settings. The information provided in the following pages and on our departmental website provides an informative overview of our program and should answer all of your questions. However, if you have additional questions, please contact Dr. Peng ( or Dr. Vanek (


The first board certified radiation oncologist came to MUSC in 1968 and in 1976 the first radiation oncology medical resident began his training.  The medical residency program has grown to six residents. In 2007, MUHA was awarded a $10,000 start-up grant for a medical physics residency program in radiation oncology.   This grant was the catalyst for the efforts of the radiation oncology department chairman, Joseph M. Jenrette, MD, and the director of medical physics, Kenneth N. Vanek, PhD, to create a physics residency program and add a dynamic synergy between physics residents and medical residents.  The Department of Radiation Oncology began its structured physics residency program on July 1, 2008 and was accredited by CAMPEP on September 29, 2011.  Our physics residency program was recently re-accredited by CAMPEP through December 31, 2020. 

Contact Us

Physics Residency Program
Dr. Jean Peng
Physics Residency Director

Dr. Vanek
Physics Residency Associate Director


View MUSC's Facebook page Follow MUSC on Twitter View the MUSC Health Youtube channel Read the MUSC Health blog circle arrow MUSC_TAG_SOLID_1C