State Partnerships
Skip Navigation


State Partnerships



Health Sciences South Carolina

Health Sciences South Carolina (HSSC), a collaborative effort connecting the largest healthcare organizations in the state, develops and deploys health information management tools in conjunction with SCTR that improve the efficiency and effectiveness of its members’ research processes and healthcare delivery.

SmartState Program

The SmartState® Program was established by the SC legislature to support the development and commercialization of new ideas and technologies. MUSC has been awarded 27 SmartState® Centers in biomedical sciences and healthcare technologies.  MUSC's centers focus on biomedical and pharmaceutical research.


The Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) and Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) are federal-state-university partnerships designed to build the state’s research infrastructure; infuse research into education; provide opportunities for diverse groups of institutions, students, faculty and disciplines in science and technology; and increase collaboration among key stakeholders of the state’s science and technology enterprise.

South Carolina Bioengineering Alliance

The SC Bioengineering Alliance, collaborative initiative among the state’s three research universities, mission is to capitalize on bioengineering partnerships as a platform to promote, strengthen, and develop multi-disciplinary biomedical research, education, and technology transfer in South Carolina.

South Carolina Research Authority

The South Carolina Research Authority (SCRA), a nonprofit contract R&D organization established to grow South Carolina’s knowledge economy, is a significant commercialization support for businesses.  In partnership with the state’s three research universities, SCRA has established a network of Innovation Centers and Launch Zones to assist startup and existing businesses with commercializing new technologies.


South Carolina Universities Research & Education Foundation

The South Carolina Universities Research and Education Foundation (SCUREF), incorporated in 1988 by the four major research institutions in South Carolina, namely: Clemson University, South Carolina State University, the Medical University of South Carolina, and the University of South Carolina, mission is mission is to enhance the education and research programs in energy, national security, environmental management, and in health-related areas for its member institutions and for universities throughout the nation. The current MUSC designee on the Foundation Board that governs SCUREF is Dr. Christopher Davies, Assistant Provost for Research Infrastructure (







© 2015  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer