Skip Navigation

Curtis P. Artz MUSC Surgical Society

Letter from the Chairman

Meet The Chairman

H. Biemann Othersen, Jr. MD

Dr. "Bee" earned his medical degree from the Medical College of South Carolina in 1953 and spent the next twelve years pursuing his post-graduate medical training at Philadelphia General Hospital, the University of Pennsylvania, the Medical College of South Carolina, the Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, and Massachusetts General Hospital. During this time, he also served two years in the U. S. Navy. In 1965, Dr. Othersen joined the faculty of the Medical University of South Carolina to serve as an Assistant Professor of Surgery and as the university’s first Chief of Pediatric Surgery. At the time, he was the first pediatric surgeon in South Carolina and one of the first in the entire Southeast. Dr. Othersen has held numerous key leadership positions within the Medical University and in professional organizations. His contributions to children’s health and the field of pediatric surgery have been recognized nationally and in 2007, the Department of Surgery and the Division of Pediatric Surgery established the H. Biemann Othersen Endowed Chair in Pediatric Surgery. Dr. André Hebra, current Chief of Pediatric Surgery, was named to this chair on September 29, 2011.


© 2016  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer