Skip Navigation
MUSC mobile menu


  • Congratulations to Our Newest Alumni 

    Faculty and staff recognized our 2017 Chief Residents during this year's Chiefs' Dinner.

  • Welcome to The Curtis P. Artz MUSC Surgical Society  

    Enrich your professional experience by reconnecting with your MUSC colleagues.

  • Join Us at the Southern Reception on December 4

Curtis P. Artz MUSC Surgical Society Distinguished Alumni

The Department of Surgery H. Biemann Othersen, Jr., MD Distinguished Alumni Award honors an alumnus whose career has significantly enhanced the surgical profession through education, research, and continuous contributions to society.  Recipients of this award are recognized for his or her outstanding service to the Surgical Profession for notable accomplishments in surgical research, clinical practice or medical education with distinction bestowed locally, nationally, or internationally.  

The following surgeons have distinguished themselves to receive recognition: 

2018: Margaret Metcalf, M.D. 

2017: R. Randolph Bradham, M.D. 

2016: Spence Taylor, M.D., FACS 

2015: A. Frederick Schild, M.D. 

2014: Randolph D. Smoak, Jr., M.D. 

2013: Lewis M. Flint, M.D., FACS

2013: H. Biemann Othersen, M.D. 

Make a Gift

Residency Education

Research & Innovation


Contact Us 

Vera Ford
Director of Development

Office:  843-792-1840
Cell:      843-277-4535

Clinical Sciences Building Suite 420
96 Jonathan Lucas St.
Charleston, SC 29425



View MUSC's Facebook page Follow MUSC on Twitter View the MUSC Health Youtube channel Read the MUSC Health blog circle arrow MUSC_TAG_SOLID_1C