Skip Navigation

Department of Surgery

Annual Resident Research Recognition Day

Each year the Department of Surgery has held the Resident Research Recognition Day. This important day is designed to showcase and celebrate the exceptional research work in which our resident scholars participate. In an effort to also showcase the basic science research in the department, the Research Council elected to include postdoctoral scholars in 2013, therefore changing the name to Surgical Research Recognition Day. The goal is to congratulate those residents and post-doctoral scholars who have completed their work as well as to stimulate residents, post-doctoral scholars and faculty to pursue additional endeavors. This has resulted in a increase in the number of publications and national presentations authored by residents and postdoctoral scholars. Dr. Denise Carneiro-Pla and Dr. Michael Yost, who facilitate and instruct the residents and postdoctoral scholars in the principles of research, lead the efforts and serve as a resource while the residents work closely with a dedicated research mentor.

June 13, 2014

Guest Speaker
Mohamed Ali, Jr., MD, Class of 2001
"Metabolic Recovery Following Bariatric Surgery"

Congratulations to the 2014 Winners!

Basic Science:
Shaina Eckhouse, MD
Alicia Patterson, MD

Clinical Science:
Marcie Dorlon, MD
Christa Jillard, MD

June 14, 2013

Guest Speaker
Randolph Smoak, Jr., MD, Class of 1966
"Blending Life's Gifts"

Congratulations to the 2013 Winners!

Clinical Science:
William Lancaster, MD 
Marcie Dorlon, MD

Basic Science:
J. Matthew Rhett, PhD
Ee Wern Su, PhD

June 1, 2012

Guest Speaker
Eric Frykberg, MD, Class of 1982
"One Surgeon's Acadmic Odyessy"

Congratulations to the 2012 Winners!

Aaron Lesher, MD
Shaina Eckhouse, MD
Brent Jewett, MD

June 17, 2011

Congratulations to the 2011 Winners!

Shaina Eckhouse, MD
Cindy McCord, MD
Aaron Lesher, MD (Discussant)

June 25, 2010

Congratulations to the 2010 Winners!

Jennifer Dixon, MD
Jean Marie Ruddy, MD

June 26, 2009

Congratulations to the 2009 Winners!

Jean Marie Ruddy, MD
Allison Lundy, MD (Discussant)

May 23, 2008

Congratulations to the 2008 Winners!

Craig Blum, MD
Dennis Schimpf, MD
John Barbour, MD


© 2013  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer