Skip Navigation
musc public safety

Department History

The Medical University of South Carolina Department of Public Safety was formed on November 1, 1969. The initial force consisted of 25 officers, who were commissioned as State Constables by the Chief of The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division, and approved by the Governor of the State.  Thirty years later, the department was awarded full international accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA)

Today the department is comprised of three divisions; Administration, Operations and Patrol.  The force consists of 83 dedicated professional officers and support staff.


©  Medical University of South Carolina | Disclaimer | 101 Doughty Street, Charleston, SC 29425